Nominations for the Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards 2017

BAFTA TV Award Nominations

Saturday night, Eurovision. Sunday night, BAFTA TV Awards 2017.

I love the BAFTA film and TV Awards. The Royal Festival Hall is one of my all-time favourite art venue in London, which will be taken over tomorrow night, as the Virgin Media BAFTA TV Awards.

BBC ONE will be showing the event between 8-10pm tomorrow evening, although the Bafta Facebook page will be live-streaming from 4.30pm.

The Crown’s Claire Foy goes up against Jodie Comer, Nikki Amuka-Bird and Sarah Lancashire in the Best Actress category.

Ant and Dec are up against Strictly, Britain’s Got Talent, Michael Mcintyre with The Great British Bake Off appearing in the Features category.

Watch it with us tomorrow night!

Sue Perkins as host

Sue Perkins will host this year’s Virgin TV British Awards this Sunday 14th May at Royal Festival Hall on BBC One for the first time as master of ceremonies. Graham Norton has hosted this prestigious ceremony for the past four years.

Mel and Sue seem to be getting their faces everywhere!

List of nominations: 

A full list of nominations for the Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards can be found on the official BAFTA website.

We have provided a snapshot below ahead of tomorrow’s awards.

CHARLIE BROOKER’S 2016 WIPE Production Team – House of Tomorrow/BBC Two
CUNK ON SHAKESPEARE Charlie Brooker, Annabel Jones, Sam Ward, Lorry Powles – House of Tomorrow/BBC Two
THE LAST LEG Production Team – Open Mike Productions/Channel 4
TASKMASTER Alex Horne, Andy Cartwright, Andy Devonshire – Avalon/Dave

THE CROWN Production Team – Left Bank Pictures/Netflix
THE DURRELLS Production Team – Sid Gentle Films Ltd/Masterpiece/ITV
HAPPY VALLEY Sally Wainwright, Juliet Charlesworth, Nicola Shindler, Neasa Hardiman – Red Production Company/BBC One
WAR & PEACE Production Team – BBC Studios/BBC Wales/Lookout Point/TWC/BBC One

ADAM HILLS The Last Leg – Open Mike Productions/Channel 4
CLAUDIA WINKLEMAN Strictly Come Dancing –  BBC Studios/BBC One
GRAHAM NORTON The Graham Norton Show – So Television/BBC One
MICHAEL MCINTYRE Michael McIntyre’s Big Show – Hungry McBear/BBC One

ANT & DEC’S SATURDAY NIGHT TAKEAWAY Production Team – ITV Studios/Mitre Television/ITV
BRITAIN’S GOT TALENT Richard Holloway, Amelia Brown, Lee McNicholas, Clair Breen – Thames/Syco/ITV
MICHAEL MCINTYRE’S BIG SHOW Christian Fletcher, Dan Baldwin, Claire Horton, Chris Howe – Hungry McBear/BBC One
STRICTLY COME DANCING Production Team – BBC Studios/BBC One


ADEEL AKHTAR Murdered by My Father – BBC Studios/BBC Three
BABOU CEESAY Damilola, Our Loved Boy – Minnow Films/BBC One
BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses – Neal Street Productions/Carnival Films/NBC Universal/Thirteen/BBC Two
ROBBIE COLTRANE National Treasure – The Forge/Channel 4

CLAIRE FOY The Crown – Left Bank Pictures/Netflix
JODIE COMER Thirteen – BBC Studios/BBC America/BBC Three
NIKKI AMUKA-BIRD NW – Mammoth Screen/BBC Two
SARAH LANCASHIRE Happy Valley – Red Production Company/BBC One

ASIM CHAUDHRY People Just Do Nothing – Roughcut TV/BBC Three
DAVID MITCHELL Upstart Crow – BBC Studios/BBC Two
HARRY ENFIELD The Windsors – Noho Film and Television/Channel 4
STEVE COOGAN Alan Partridge’s Scissored Isle – Baby Cow Productions/Sky Atlantic


FIRST DATES Production Team – Twenty Twenty/Channel 4
MUSLIMS LIKE US Production Team – Love Productions/BBC Two
THE REAL MARIGOLD HOTEL Production Team – Twofour /BBC Two
THE SECRET LIFE OF 5 YEAR OLDS Production Team – RDF Television/Channel 4

CASUALTY Production Team – BBC Studios/BBC One
EASTENDERS Production Team – BBC Studios/BBC One
EMMERDALE Production Team – ITV Studios/ITV
HOLLYOAKS Bryan Kirkwood, Emily Gascoyne, Vikki Tennant – Lime Pictures/Channel 4


GAME OF THRONES: Battle of the Bastards
THE LATE LATE SHOW WITH JAMES CORDEN: Carpool Karaoke with Michelle Obama
LINE OF DUTY: Urgent Exit Required
PLANET EARTH II:  Snakes vs Iguana Chase
STRICTLY COME DANCING: Ed Balls’ Gangnam Style
WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?: Danny Dyer’s Origins

Nominations are correct at the time of going to print. BAFTA reserves the right to make changes to the names listed at any time up until Sunday 14 May 2017.